About the Australian Memory of the World Program

Founded in December 2000, and conducted under the auspices of the Australian National Commission for UNESCO, the Australian Memory of the World Program is one of more than 60 Memory of the World programs worldwide. The Australian program aims to:

The Australian Memory of the World Program operates within the regional framework of MOWCAP, the Memory of the World Committee for Asia/Pacific.

UNESCO Australian Memory of the World Committee

  • Acting Chair: Roslyn Russell
  • Secretary: Fiona Clarke
  • Treasurer: Roslyn Russell
  • Chair, Assessment Sub-Committee: Christine Yeats
  • Chair, Documenting Australian Society working group: Adrian Cunningham

Committee Members

  • Corinne Ball
  • Gavin Bannerman
  • Anne-Marie Condé
  • Ray Edmondson
  • Margaret Farmer
  • Jenny Jerome
  • Kylie Moloney
  • Cathy Pilgrim
  • Barbara Reeve
  • Joanna Sassoon
  • Maggie Shapley
  • Jacqui Uhlmann
  • Rachel Watson


Committee members are volunteers, and come from a range of documentary heritage-related institutions and occupations. They include

  • Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
  • Australian War Memorial
  • History South Australia
  • National Archives of Australia
  • National Film and Sound Archive of Australia
  • National Library of Australia
  • Royal Australian Historical Society
  • State Library of Queensland
  • Tasmanian Archives
  • Independent archivists, audiovisual archivists, conservators, curators, historians and librarians.